Weekend Challenge “To Die For”

Happy Monday! I am hoping to have two posts up today as yesterday was filled with tons of pictures!

This weekend the lovely Kelly got to host the weekend challenge for Victoria Maire FB Group. The moment I saw what it was I just knew this was going to be a fun layout! But I am getting ahead of myself. Here is Kelly’s fun challenge…

This weekend’s challenge is to take an opened pack of die cuts and use up as much as you can.

Now I am not one to use the same collection on 1 layout and that goes with ephemera as well. I just tend to like when my layouts are a little more eclectic. The first thing I did was went through my pictures to figure out what photo I thought should be scrapped. I kept going back and forth between these two: Shot 10 FIltered0110

 

IMG_20150607_054050So still not really know which direction I was going in I then went to look at my pattern paper. I spent an entire hour (Yes I mean 60 WHOLE minutes) going through EVERY piece of pretty paper I owned to find just the perfect choice. I ended up with BOBUNNY’s collection Baby Bump which is absolutely beautiful! I finally decided if I am using a collection with the word baby in it I was scrapping the 1st photo.

With those two decisions made I went to where I store all my ephemera and just picked all the random bits that I thought would go with the colours in the pattern paper. I went with a lot of none theme pieces so the whole layout wouldn’t scream out baby (though I did pick a chipboard piece that literally said baby).

So by this time it has been a good part of my Saturday come and gone. I decided to just let it be and I would pick it back up in the morning. Which is exactly what I did and within twenty-five minutes (minus the ten minutes I let my misting dry), my layout was complete and I really enjoy the way it turned out!

DSC03970

I of course added gold into the layout (though I do plan on creating a layout soon with NO GOLD very soon). And the biggest, craziest thing of all is that I didn’t use a title (EEK!!!). This layout will be the first one in Jaxon’s baby album so I decided I liked it without a title but let me tell you it is really weird for me not to add one and I still am looking at the layout now thinking it’s not complete because there isn’t one.

That’s it guys, my layout for the first weekend challenge of June! I did create a process video for this layout which I am hoping will be up sometime early thing week!

If you would like to play along with the challenge please visit here and if you are not already a member of Victoria’s amazing FB group visit here

Thanks so much for taking the time to visit my blog today. Stay tuned for more fun to come!

prevsig (1)

Leave a Reply

