Before & After Hump Day Challenge

It is June which means my favourite FB group has started the fall design team challenges. I am not on the DT until the new year but I really want to show my support to all the other DT members so my goal is to do a blog post about every challenge and my take on them. The lovely Colleen is up first for the Hump Day Challenge and here is what she came up with…

The challenge is to scrap 2 photos that are taken at different times for the same event, time, etc.

11401216_10153378703087392_3755649455584921413_nAt first my inclination was to grab some photos of Jaxon but when I was searching through my photo these two tiny square photos came up and I just knew they were the ones I would be using for this challenge. The next step of course was deciding how to create a layout with such tiny photos, I’m talking these are 2×2! I contemplated doing an entire 12×12 or even 8 1/2×11 but in the end I decided it would be best to sort through all the pretty papers that came in the recollections mini albums I bought on clearance last year.

After finding the perfect fit I then challenged myself to only use the scraps on my desk to embellish this layout. (Let me mention I have been sorting through my ephemera so they were on my desk at the time). I truly enjoy the way the layout turned out…

DSC03967

 

The journaling is a little rough to read but it says…

Today I came across these two tiny photos. Looking at them it dawned on my out of all the features in my face that have changed over my almost 28 years, my smile has always remained the same.

I enjoy smiling and not just to the camera. I like to smile at elderly couples walking by and holding hands. I like to smile at children as they play without a care in the world.

Over the years I am learning to accept myself for who I am and I love that even through the hard times I have always been able to produce a smile. And I pray that as Jaxon goes through like he too will always find something to smile about!

Here are some closer looks at my embellishment clusters…DSC03968 DSC03969

 

All in all I am pretty pleased with the way this layout turned out. I will be putting it in my stories album with the rest of my childhood stories.

If you would like to play along with the challenge please visit here and if you are not already a member of Victoria’s amazing FB group visit here

Thanks so much for taking the time to visit my blog today. Stay tuned for more fun to come!

prevsig (1)

Leave a Reply

