Lets Talk About Project Life! PROS & CONS

DSC_0003 (4)I am working on my week 10 today (yes I am that far behind and not even a little worried about it) and thought I would just share how I feel about my experience thus far. First off I LOVE project life and am so happy I decided to start it this year and not wait until 2015! The fact that I have all the small details of what’s going on in my life right now with a baby is so fun to look back on. He is growing and changing so fast that if it weren’t for PL I am sure I would have already forgotten a lot of it. I do find however that there are pros and cons to PL and just thought I would share my feelings on the matter

PROS

  • I have documented the little things that often get forgotten
  • I find myself taking more pictures so I have a variety to choose from each week
  • It’s fun!!
  • Each pocket has to potential to represent a mini layout which I love
  • I am adding in pictures that I wouldn’t document in a normal album

CONS

  • Without a printer at home (which I do not have) it is almost impossible to keep up
  • Core kits have WAY to many of the same cards and I found myself bored with the one I bought so fast that I then had to create my own
  • (With the way I embellish) One year is most likely going to take up 2 albums and that means if I keep doing this even for just 5 years that’s 10 albums that need to find a home (I own 9 albums right now and have been scrapbooking for over 10 years)
  • It is hard to tell any type of in depth story without the balance of the spread looking off

So this is very personalized to my feelings on the matter and in no way am trying to discourage anyone from doing PL! I actually am in love with it and do plan on continuing on in the up coming years (just maybe in a different fashion). Well that’s all I have for today. I am working on a post about the difference between my PL and Jaxon’s album which I hope to have up by next week. Until then…

Talk Soon!!

prevsig (1)

3 thoughts on “Lets Talk About Project Life! PROS & CONS

  1. Try monthly with extra page or extra double spread for special events of occasions. I’ve been scrapbooking for 15 years and this is my first PL album. And they’re huge! I love it, though, too. My kids still have their 12×12’s so my PL is about me and what I like about what I do. Try it. I started on my 51st bday and going to my next birthday, which is November. Love your post.

  2. I’m a huge fan of Project Life as well. My daughter is going to be 5 months next week so I totally agree with you on how awesome it is to be able to document the little things. There is a project life app coming out sometime next month, which I suppose would be good for people like us who don’t have printers at home, on the downside I love embelishments too much to just have pictures on a page!

Leave a Reply

