Gestational Diabetes

DiabetesThey say 7% of all pregnant ladies have a chance of getting gestational diabetes… To me this means I will NOT be having to deal with this… WRONG!!! I went in for my first screening which is simple. You drink this gross orange solution head to the lab and after its been in your system for an hour they draw your blood. Within a day I got a phone call from my doctor’s office telling me that my levels were high and I needed to go in for the three hour screening now. At this point I am still thinking that everything will be fine and I won’t have GD… WRONG!!!

The three hour test involves getting your blood drawn 4 times when all is said and through (Have I mentioned I HATE needles!!!) They do an initial blood draw to see your levels before giving you a solution like the last one only way way sweeter. You then get to just sit around for three hours while they draw your blood on the hour mark. By the time I had gotten to my last draw the lady couldn’t get the needle in the vein right away and I have great veins so that sucked!!

I went home thinking all would be okay and didn’t think anything of it until that dreaded phone call came within a day of the screening. The nurse calmly told me that my levels were high and I do indeed have gestational diabetes. Hopefully with just diet and exercise I wont need insulin but if I can’t get it under control there will be daily needles in my life very soon. At first I was doing a great job of holding myself together but the longer she talked the weaker I became until I just couldn’t take it anymore and started crying. (I am not a crier especially since the start of this pregnancy I have become even less emotional… Weird I know) The poor nurse tried to reassure me that everything would be okay and the baby was in no harm as long as I followed a healthy diet. Once I got off the phone my entire day was consumed of me crying all day. I would collect myself for a little while and then just break down again. At one point I even started saying out loud “mommy’s so sorry *********” (Yeah still not sharing his name sorry). Sean came home and got to experience me crying for only like the second time… Thank goodness he was so supportive and after about a half hour I finally stopped crying for the rest of the evening. (Funny enough just reliving this moment is making me teary eyed)

treatment-of-gestational-diabetesOn Monday I went to a class with about seven other ladies dealing with GD as well. I learned all the stuff I could and couldn’t eat and the oh so fun part of how to prick my finger every day (YAY ME!!) The Dr. sat down to actually show me my results from my three hour test and they were bad…

Fasting (1st blood draw) you should be less then 5.1 and I was 3.9 (Yes not bad)

1 Hour you should be less then 10.0 I was 11.1 (a little high for sure)

2 Hour you should be less then 8.5 I was 12.6 (WHAT!?! how did that happen)

3 Hour your should be less then 7.7 I was 10.8 (Still high)

In other words my body really doesn’t like sugar at all!!! They recommend that I just stay completely away from junk food at all times until after this little guy is born. I also was recommended to start taking Vitamin D so now I get to add another pill to pop during my day… Here is what I am currently taking

  • Prenatal Vitamin
  • Coconut Oil
  • Fish Oil
  • Vitamin C
  • Heartburn Meds
  • Iron
  • Vitamin D3

Low-Carb-Diets-Weak-Against-Gestational-Diabetes1-870x580It is currently Thursday morning and I am happy to report that I have been following my diet to a T and walking every day… Lets just hope I can keep this up until the end of January, though Dr. Tam says its possible that they may induce me early because having GD can make baby grow a little too big.

Leave a Reply

