Saturday Morning Ramblings

saturday morningsEver notice when you can’t seem to just do one thing at a time? Instead you are multitasking no matter how small or big there doesn’t seem to be too many times during the day when multitasking doesn’t come into effect. I came to this realization today while I was on my way to work listening to my new audiobook I borrowed from the Library to be played on my kindle (I am too cheap to pay for books when you can just get them for free). I am loving the book but its funny because I am also reading a book too! Now obviously I don’t read one book while listening to the other (That would be some great multitasking skills); but I am still having to remember the two stories in my head so I don’t mix them up. Good news they are so complexly different from each other its not too hard of a task to do.

wildWild is the book I am actually reading. It took me hours to finally decide what my first book would be to read on my new Kindle Fire (birthday present from Sean). My mom gave me her library card number so that I could check out a book through one of their ebook sources without actually having to pay for it. There are good and bad things about this. GOOD I don’t have to pay for a book obviously… Also its a great way to download a book and then be able to give it back and clear up the space it took up on my kindle. I have no idea how much space is actually available on it; but I like it when I can unclutter things. BAD the library does not have most of the books on my goodreads list so I had a heck of a time (like how I didn’t swear there I am getting better with that for the baby) finding a book I was interested in actually trying to read. That’s where my audiobook came into play….room

I have been wanting to read this book for a long time now but I haven’t really had the time (okay that’s a lie I haven’t made the time and have been trying to save money which is another reason the library card is good). It was the first book I searched for but all that was available was the audiobook for of it. I decided to borrow it anyways. Room if you haven’t already read it is about a mother and her son who have been locked into a room since the mom was 19 years old. The whole story is told in the eyes of the 5 year old little boy Jack. I am about 1/3 of the way through (I have a really long drive to work) and I am so so happy that I got this book on audio instead of actually reading it myself. It is so much more animated that way and the way its written is by the boy calling everything just as it is… He doesn’t use the word “the” in front of whatever object he is talking about, just whatever the object is like duvet or rug.

Okay so back to the point I am now currently embarrassing my multitasking ways and I do believe that I will keep reading and listening to two books at a time from now on!!

P.S. I will have my actual book reviews out on these books when I finish as to why I haven’t told you much about them.

Leave a Reply

